Skip to content

4th Trimester Preview: Classes and Beyond

by on September 29, 2013

Tri 4 bookshelfYear two has commenced!

Actually, New York Chiropractic College’s fall trimester began a solid 2.5 weeks ago, so this post is overdue. However, last weekend when I should have been writing I was instead on a trip to Milwaukee, WI, for the annual Student American Chiropractic Association leadership conference. What a slacker. Then we started a new local running group for National Chiropractic Health Month. Not to mention lessons I learned from shadowing a primary care doctor before class started. So you can consider this a preview of the topics likely to come up this semester, as I now have a backlog of experiences to share.

First, though, let’s take a look at where my classmates and I are at in our education. September 11th marked the beginning of my fourth trimester of the Doctor of Chiropractic program, out of a total of ten trimesters. With a solid basis in basic sciences, neurology, and anatomy behind me, I am starting to get into more pre-clinical classes, such as Patient Assessment, and Pathology. Check out the specifics:

  • Patient Assessment Methods I (with practical lab) – 5 credits, 7 hours per week
  • Musculoskeletal Physiopathology (with imaging lab) – 5 credits, 6 hr/wk
  • Chiropractic Technique V – 4 credits, 6 hr/wk
  • Visceral Pathology (with histology lab) – 4 credits, 5 hr/wk
  • Public Health & Wellness – 4 credits, 4 hr/wk
  • Chiropractic Theories – 3 credits, 3 hr/wk
  • Upper Extremities Technique – 2 credits, 3 hr/wk

That comes to a total of 28 credits, and a whopping 34 hours in class each week. Seriously. I have friends who make a decent living with jobs that work them fewer hours per week. And they don’t have to spend the rest of their time studying to pass exams. If I sound a little envious it is because I just charted out my 17 midterm exams that span and absorb the month of October. Good thing this was a fun weekend!

I suppose an evaluation of how things look this semester would be incomplete without mentioning my classmates. The composition of the student body has actually changed a bit over the course of a year. There are now about 103 students that share my same class schedule, down from the 122 who started with me one year ago. Some adopted a modified schedule, matching the pace of the curriculum to their individual or family needs. A few changed career paths. A couple never found their groove academically, and were not eligible to continue classes. A couple students switched to or from other schools. One even transferred away, and then decided to transfer back.

One year ago, I was a first-trimester students living in a dorm suite with couple of 4th-Tri guys. I admit I was a little intimidated by the sheer amount of information that they knew. They seemed so far ahead that I was not sure that I could internalize that much information in only a year. But here I am, a 4th Tri myself now, and I am in the same place. And it is still a bit surprising.

So, to my classmates: let’s keep broadening our knowledge and our horizons, and always continue to be surprising.

For more on the chiropractic curriculum check out NYCC’s DC curriculum or my previous posts about schedules.

Follow Hands in Training on Facebook and Brendan on Twitter for updates and articles in between blog posts!

> Next: 5th Trimester- Legendary

From → All Posts, NYCC, Schedule

3 Comments
  1. The McCanns permalink

    Love your post as always. Ironic though that a McDonalds ad is attached.

    • Elizabeth permalink

      Let me know if there is anything we can do to help you get the word out about the running group for NCHM!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Summer Schedule | Hands In Training

Questions? Thoughts? Related info to share? Current song you're listening to?

True Health and Wellness

Chiropractic / Acupuncture

KAISK COMMUNITY CHIROPRACTIC

Keeping Families and Communities Balanced

futurechiro

My experience at Chiropractic College

Gifts in Open Hands

A Blog for a Pentecost Year

Hands In Training

Perspectives of a student of Chiropractic

drsarahpotthoff

Patient- Centered, Integrative Healthcare

